Mirror Reflections – Ukraine & Russia


Mirror Reflections

I see this Mirror Reflection as probably one of the most important ones that I’ve done. As I did my research I was hoping that I would find what I found. They really are like brother and sister, it becomes very obvious when you start looking at their histories. I thought it would be great to try to write some magnificent piece about it, but wisdom spoke to me. Let others do the talking, it will be heard better. I feel very blessed to be able to share the messages that I found. I hope you will be too. These are two great countries with incredible histories that tie together like I’ve never seen or read about before. Today they are separate as they should be, though in spirit they will forever be bound.

If you are following my blog you will find many interesting posts that fall before this one. They too, belong and are a part of this post. You may have to search a little deeper to really understand what the message is that I’m trying to get across, but I’m sure you will get it if you try. It might also be helpful to follow some of the links to see the bigger picture.

graham-lawrence-motherland-statue-rodina-mat-and-the-national-war-museum-kiev-ukraine-europe

Life in Ukraine

Old habits die hard. For many Russians, Ukraine is like a phantom limb still felt to be there long after its amputation. The idea that Ukraine is really a nation at all strikes some Russians as odd. To the extent that perceptions of history condition politics, understanding the Russian view of Ukrainian history – and the Ukrainian view of Ukrainian history – is essential.

Though wrong, the idea that Ukrainian history is really just an annex of the sumptuous many-roomed mansion of Russian history is common. To some degree it is understandable. Ukraine and Russia have shared triumph and tragedy from the birth of the Kyivan / Kievan Rus (the first proto-Russian state – though this of course begs the question of whether the Rus was Russian or Ukrainian at all) through the wars against the Poles in the seventeenth century to bloody struggle against fascism in the twentieth.

The historical links between the two countries, ancient and modern, are manifold and profound. The Orthodox churches of Ukraine and Russia share a patron saint – St. Vladmir or St. Volodmyr……..

Visit: http://www.historytoday.com/blog/2014/03/ukraine-and-russia%E2%80%99s-history-wars

g9opJhe

Life in Russia

It was February 2008, and I was living in Moscow with a Russian host family. It was the evening of Election Day–a day when Russians voted for their new president, President Medvedev. The occasion gave me the opportunity to talk to my Russian host dad about a topic I had avoided: communism and politics in Russia.

Dmitry, a tall man with long, black hair and a hearty laugh, was a father in his mid thirties. He was a child when the Soviet Union began its transition into a democratic Russia.

“And that was something that we could not understand,” Dmitry said, lowering his cup of tea. “For the first time in our history, the leader of our country was walking among the people………….

Visit: http://sethadamsmith.com/2013/11/26/father-soviet/comment-page-3/#comment-22321

Also visit:

Related articles:

One thought on “Mirror Reflections – Ukraine & Russia

Leave a Reply

