Woke up this Morning asking – Who’s Eating America’s Lunch?


Contemplating What’s Happening in the World Today

I woke up this morning contemplating what’s happening in the world today. I was dreaming of the future but was rudely awakened by the barking of a dog on a cool Monday morning. As I stirred in my comfortable bed others awoke to a much different sight one that isn’t as pretty as mine. As my feet hit the floor ready to make my morning coffee others awoke to a grumbling in their stomachs that cannot be quenched. My cozy life in America never did make much sense.

The sleep from my eyes are cleared by the splashing of cold water on my face, yet I just can’t shake the memories of the fresh dreams that are still left in my mind. I ask myself the question: Is America the same today as it was 30 to 40 years ago? With renewed eyes and coffee in hand I sat back in my morning chair, yet there’s a bit of complacency in the air. The facility of life unchallenged brings an air of confidence in an uncertain world. In America we believe we are “chosen”, we are number one. But sitting on this pedestal comes with a price, a once humble America no longer dwells in this place of humility. Are we all as exceptional as we are told?

A Beer, a Half Carton of Milk, and an Open Can of Beans.

The kvetching of my stomach overtakes my mind I head to the kitchen with a refrigerator full of food wondering what it has that will satisfy this ache. Elsewhere many contemplate if they will even get to eat, I’m blessed. When I opened the fridge believing it was full, it actually sat half empty. No matter it still has beer, a half carton of milk, and an open can of beans. I’m happy. What more should I ask out of life? I open a container of yogurt and head to the computer to see what’s happening in the world.

As I sit there wading through it all I asked myself what’s the use, why bother, it all makes me feel so small. I realize as the world eats our lunch we are still trying to be first (it is our sandbox, we created it). What happened to the America that I knew? It’s used to feed the poor, now it only succeeds in catering only to the rich leaving everyone else behind. When will we stop trying to be the first in line and put others before ourselves. Are we all like rats in a cage running on the wheel of life? Maybe it’s time to reflect on what’s important.

  Are We Dreaming of Pink Champagne on Ice.

I couldn’t help but have a couple of songs wading through my mind as I contemplated it all. Do we focus on family – Wives, husbands, mothers and Fathers, sisters and brothers or are we dreaming of pink champagne on ice. We have to ask ourselves are we all just prisoners here of our own device? If I think honestly to myself I’d say America lost its Spirit in 1969. While the rest of the world is moving on America has been resting on it laurels living in the past believing its future is still the same. It will not be a uni-polar, the world will not bend its knee. The world doesn’t want to be in slavery, it wants to be free. I will end this post by quoting Vladimir Putin.

Without the moral values that are rooted in Christianity

and other world religions, without rules and moral values

which have formed and been developed over millennia,

people will inevitably lose their human dignity.

Thank you, and God Bless.

 

15 thoughts on “Woke up this Morning asking – Who’s Eating America’s Lunch?

  1. Saw this today and thought you might be interested if you are not already aware of it.

    1. Russian Life is a bimonthly magazine covering all aspects of Russian culture, travel, history, and more. Their features are generally freelanced, and writers are invited to send queries for features or for a small number of other departments (the full list is available in the guidelines). They don’t specify pay, but our sources report $100 to $300 an article. To learn more, read Russian Life’s submission guidelines.

    Agree with your last post. Reagan was the establishment’s response to hippies and it pretty much went downhill from there.

    Hard to imagine what will happen next in the U.S.

  2. I can’t understand why you keep sending me your posts, Steve, without mentioning the fact that we had vague plans to meet in Sochi, as if I’m just a person on your email list.

    You had once mentioned wanting to publish my book A Taoist Politics, so of course your behavior seems even stranger. I hope you will respond to this email.

    🙂 Deena

    On Mon, May 29, 2017 at 4:49 AM, Life in Russia wrote:

    > archecotech posted: ” Contemplating What’s Happening in the World Today I > woke up this morning contemplating what’s happening in the world today. I > was dreaming of the future but was rudely awakened by the barking of a dog > on a cool Monday morning. As I stirred in my comfor” >

    1. Deena, do you have my e-mail address? Yes, I was hoping to come to Sochi but I ran into some problems with one of my employers. They decided not to pay me a fairly large sum of money. It was difficult to deal with. I’d also like to discuss publishing your book in Russia. Again apologize for not getting back with you sooner. I’ve been wrapping up my teaching for the year so been very busy. Thanks for understanding.

  3. No we are not the same, Steve. The world has changed a lot in the last 30 years. Our treasuries have been emptied by countless, useless wars.
    Leslie

  4. Meanwhile Europe:

    Look and listen behind the main theme.

    I wanted to write smthg like “Music unites the world”..but then realised that there are too many issues there indeed.

    So i’m just speechless.

Leave a Reply

