A little taste of vacation in “St. Petersburg”


So I’m back and ready to invite you to have a look at some of the wonderful places we visited for the last three weeks. In no particular order we visited St. Petersburg, Moscow, the Smolensk area, and the countryside outside of Kazan. Everywhere we went it was beautiful, Russia is so green. One would think green would get tiring after a while but it doesn’t. I noticed the greener it got the calmer I became. We have a word in Russian that describes this very well. It’s “спокойный”, which means calm, tranquil, and serene. I also found that each town we visited has its own special personality which I will try to describe to you as I share more about our supernumerary visits around this incredible country. But today I will leave you with one of the many photos I took while on our vacation.Summer Vacation 2014

This is St. Petersburg.

I’m not sure how many posts I’ll do about our vacation, I’ve got so much to share and much more thoughts to go along with it. Please feel free to post questions, thought and ideas for future adventures for “Life in Russia”.

14 thoughts on “A little taste of vacation in “St. Petersburg”

  1. This is just an idea~ but maybe you could showcase some “out of the way” places in Russia, stores, restaurants, etc. … I always enjoy those 🙂

  2. I like hearing about the “intangibles,” the word for calm and how the green made you feel calmer, the “personality” of the place. Just remembering I knew of an American book publisher who started a project between children in New England and children in Russia, they apparently talked on the phone, and books were sent for a library in their village. Don’t know if you heard about it.

Leave a Reply

