Threading the needle- A Story about Russian Medicine


Part I

pic_1358837885

This picture doesn’t come close to showing how high tech the operating room was, where I had my surgery

Walking the Green Mile

For the last week I’ve been out of commission because I was in for surgery. The hospital I had my operation at had some of the most high tech equipment in it I’ve ever seen. What I found extremely interesting was not just the operating room itself but green mile before it and after it. I think a lot of misinformation has been put out about Russian medicine. I will be sharing more about this and why family becomes such important part in events like mine in Russia. One of the most incredible parts about Russian medicine is it’s available to everyone who holds a medical card. The process of getting a medical card is a long one that means lots of perseverance and hard work. This card as I understand it is like having a social security card in the States. It’s something you must have if you live in Russia. Over the course of the next week I will be sharing with you my experience, my thoughts, feelings, and understanding of the whole process. I’m still in process of recovery so I may make it part of the series as well. Over this last week I’ve been graced with having several guest bloggers post their articles here on “Life in Russia. I also have several other guest bloggers posting articles this next week as I recover. I want to thank everyone who has been so supportive as I’ve gone through this. And again thank you for following “Life in Russia”.

8 thoughts on “Threading the needle- A Story about Russian Medicine

  1. Such a devoted blogger to keep us occupied and even provide operation room photos while you’re undergoing surgery. Take care Steve, I hope you have a quick recovery. 🙂

    1. Thank you Jet. The story that I will share is a very heart warming one. To me it’s what life is all about. I hope it will touch many people as it did myself.

  2. Thank you for taking the time to write even when you have more important priorities! I sincerely look forward to your story. But first, wish you have a good, long rest. And wish you a full recovery. Best wishes to you and your family.
    – Takami
    (Tokyo, Japan)

    1. Thank you so much for your reply. Yes priorities change when something like this happens. I’ve been taught all my life to be responsible and make sure those who count on me that I don’t let them down. My blog has been that outlet.
      So you are from Tokyo Japan. One of the places I’d love to visit someday. Beautiful country. Just a thought would you be interested in being a guest blogger and share about Japan and how important it is to build bridges? Please let me know. Thanks.

      1. Thank you very much for taking the time to reply. I hope you are continuing to have plenty of rest while your recover.

        I do hope you’ll have a change to visit Japan someday, especially the rural areas (I’m a country girl, so I had to emphasize that…) 🙂 I’ve always had a sincere interest in Russia, especially as some of my very good friends are from there.

        I am flattered you might consider me to be a guest blogger for your site. My only concerns are: I’m afraid my life experience (and international experience) is not nearly as rich as yours & your other followers, and, my wonky written English. It’s the reason why my site is a photo-based one 🙂 😀

Leave a Reply

